125 Mich. communities certified ‘Tree City USA’

(AP Photo/Dean Fosdick)

LANSING, Mich. (AP) — The Michigan Department of Natural Resources and Arbor Day Foundation have given 125 communities in the state the “Tree City USA” certification for their efforts in 2013.

The DNR announced the awards Tuesday. The program promotes proper tree management in urban areas and awareness for the economic, health and aesthetic benefits of trees.

To be eligible a community must have a board or department responsible for tree care, a tree ordinance, at least a $2 per capita budget for tree care, and hold an annual Arbor Day celebration with a proclamation.

The DNR also recertified the Lansing Board of Water and Light and International Transmission Co. through the Tree Line USA program. The University of Michigan, Western Michigan University and Calvin College were certified through the Tree Campus USA program.


Adrian, Albion, Allegan, Alma, Alpena, Ann Arbor, Auburn Hills, Battle Creek, Belding, Berkley, Big Rapids, Birmingham, Boyne City, Brighton, Buchanan, Cadillac, Charlevoix, Charlotte, Chesterfield Township, Clare, Clawson, Clio, Coldwater, Davison, Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, Detroit, Dewitt, Dowagiac, East Lansing, Eastpointe, Escanaba, Evart, Farmington Hills, Ferndale, Flint, Frankenmuth, Frankfort, Fraser, Fremont, Gaylord, Gladstone, Grand Haven, Grand Rapids, Grosse Pointe, Grosse Pointe Park, Grosse Pointe Woods, Hillsdale, Holland, Howell, Huntington Woods, Imlay City, Ionia, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Lansing, Lapeer, Lathrup Village, Lincoln Park, Livonia, Lowell, Marquette, Marshall, Marysville, Mason, Midland, Morenci, Montague, Mount Clemens, Muskegon, Northville, Norway, Novi, Oak Park, Owosso, Plainwell, Plymouth, Port Huron, Portage, Portland, Riverview, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Rockford, Roseville, Royal Oak, Saginaw, Saline, Saugatuck, South Haven, South Lyon, Southfield, Southgate,  St. Clair, St. Clair Shores, Sterling Heights, Sturgis, Taylor, Tecumseh, Traverse City, Trenton, Troy, Vassar, Wayne, Westland,  Whitehall, Ypsilanti, Zeeland.


Breckenridge, Burr Oak, Caledonia, Dexter, Dundee, Franklin, Grosse Pointe Shores, Holly, Kingsley, Lake Odessa, Lexington, Mackinaw City, Milford, Richland, Sparta, Spring Lake, Three Oaks.

WOOD TV8 provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s