GR City Commission candidates announced

The new Grand Rapids City Commission chambers. (Dec.

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (WOOD) — The names of the 11 candidates to fill a vacant Grand Rapids City Commission seat were announced Tuesday.

The candidates are:

  • John George, who ran for mayor of Grand Rapids in 2015. His message centered on removing fluoride from the city’s water supply.
  • Joseph Jones, president and CEO of the Grand Rapids Urban League.
  • Terrence McGee, a retired GRPD sergeant and detective.
  • William Mohr. Mohr has been very involved in Grand Rapids politics. He previously unsuccessfully ran for the Michigan House of Representatives in the 76th District as a U.S. Taxpayer Party candidate
  • Stephanie Mull
  • James Rinck, an attorney who ran for mayor in 2007.
  • Jared Secor
  • Tamara VandenBerg, the co-owner of Meanwhile Bar and the Pyramid Scheme bar. She also runs a nonprofit housing group.
  • Robert VanRavenswaay
  • Louis Wagner
  • Michael Zalewski, the vice president of media relations at SeyferthPR.

Whoever is chosen will represent the Second Ward, filling the seat vacated when Rosalynn Bliss took over as mayor.

Candidates will take part in 30-minute public interviews with sitting commissioners on Jan. 26. Commissioners will then rank each candidate.

Citizens will have their chance grill the top three candidates at a public town hall meeting at 7 p.m. Feb. 1 at the GRPS University, located at 1400 Fuller Ave. NE. There will then be a public hearing with the remaining candidates at 7 p.m. on Feb. 9.

Finalists will then be invited back for second interviews at a city commission special meeting on Feb. 16.

Commissioners will debate the finalists and pick a new commissioner on Feb. 23. The new commissioner will be sworn in that same night.

Comments are closed.