7 West Michigan counties elect new sheriffs

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (WOOD) — There are new sheriffs in town.

Seven West Michigan counties will have new sheriffs in 2017. Five of those men will replace sheriffs who are retiring. The other two take over after the current sheriff lost in the August primary.

>>Election results

In Ottawa County, Undersheriff Steve Kempker was unopposed in the Nov. 8 general election after winning the August primary election to replace Sheriff Gary Rosema, who is retiring.

The same is true in Oceana County, where  Lt. Craig Mast was unopposed after winning the August primary to replace retiring Sheriff Robert Farber.

In Montcalm County, retiring Sheriff Bill Barnwell will be succeeded by Undersheriff  Michael Williams, who won a three-way primary in August and was unopposed Tuesday.

In Newaygo County, Bob Mendham, who is the police chief in Grand and White Cloud, will be the new sheriff. Mendham defeated current Sheriff Pat Hedlund in August and was unopposed in the general election.

In Van Buren County, Republican Sgt. Daniel Abbott defeated Democrat Robert Overheul Tuesday to replace Dale Gribler, who is retiring.

In Allegan County, Undersheriff Frank Baker defeated Taxpayer Party candidate Stephen Young to replace retiring Sheriff Blaine Koops.

In Muskegon County, Democrat Michael Poulin, who defeated Sheriff Dean Roesler in the August primary, appears to have defeated Republican Dennis Luce to be the next sheriff.


Inside woodtv.com:

Complete coverage of Decision 2016